Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

February 18, 2020, 05:51:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Author Topic: Fender Tonemaster uses digital emulation - but for only one amp model  (Read 308 times)

joecool85

  • SSGuitar Admin
  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 3206
  • Chip Points: 986
  • SSG Creator
    • View Profile
    • thatraymond.com
I think this is a fantastic idea.  Rather than make an amp that does 50 different amp models, and probably only at a mediocre level, the Fender Tonemaster Deluxe Reverb emulates one model only.  It looks and sounds almost identical to the original Deluxe Reverb it is modeled after.  It's also half the price of the actual tube version, as well as half the weight.  I think this is a pretty firm solid state win.

https://www.guitarplayer.com/gear/review-fender-tone-master-deluxe-reverb-1x12-combo
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
"New" amp: Fender Frontman 25 DSP (FM25DSP)
thatraymond.com

flester

  • Elite
  • ****
  • Posts: 131
  • Chip Points: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Fender Tonemaster uses digital emulation - but for only one amp model
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 03:03:55 AM »
Most people probably use only one or two models anyway, even if they have 50. I also wonder if the audience would notice the difference in a stage setting - apart from us guitar nerds who get a front seat just to see the gear!

joecool85

  • SSGuitar Admin
  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 3206
  • Chip Points: 986
  • SSG Creator
    • View Profile
    • thatraymond.com
Re: Fender Tonemaster uses digital emulation - but for only one amp model
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2020, 10:18:15 AM »
Most people probably use only one or two models anyway, even if they have 50. I also wonder if the audience would notice the difference in a stage setting - apart from us guitar nerds who get a front seat just to see the gear!

Honestly I doubt most folks would notice one amp from another, even different companies lol.  You are right abouts the models though, I use 2-3 on my Frontman 25DSP.  Really if there was one killer model, I'd probably use just that one.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
"New" amp: Fender Frontman 25 DSP (FM25DSP)
thatraymond.com

flester

  • Elite
  • ****
  • Posts: 131
  • Chip Points: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Fender Tonemaster uses digital emulation - but for only one amp model
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2020, 05:07:26 AM »
If it sounds great and is cheaper, lighter and more reliable than a valve amp then why not.

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk


joecool85

  • SSGuitar Admin
  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 3206
  • Chip Points: 986
  • SSG Creator
    • View Profile
    • thatraymond.com
If it sounds great and is cheaper, lighter and more reliable than a valve amp then why not.

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk

Exactly!  My one beef with any modeling amps I've tried - they don't take pedals well.  And when I say that, it's really that they don't take boosters/light ODs well when you are using them to push the amp to break up like you might on a tube amp.  They get fizzy/ugly.  If they can fix this issue, I think valves can take a back seat for good!
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
"New" amp: Fender Frontman 25 DSP (FM25DSP)
thatraymond.com

phatt

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 2076
  • Chip Points: 248
    • View Profile
Hey Joe,
I hazzard a guess that Digi models just have way too much bandwidth,, = Fizz at high gain.
Well that is what my ears tell me every time I have to repair one of those all in one COSM roland pedal gizmos. yuk
I have a crappy digiteck modeling pedal thing here that I got for nothing and it's the same issue.

Years back I went nuts trying to resolve the 20/20 bandwidth on an old Quadraverb. For their day they were top shelf gear.
while trying to record some guitar tracks with it I ended up just inserting a simple ANALOG Marshall cab sim between the quad and deck,,,, huge improvement.
From what I can gather not much has changed.
So as you can probably guess I'm not a fan of modeling setups.
A young lad asked me only last week why can't I get the sound of the great players from years ago?
Answer, TOO MUCH friggin bandwidth in modern amps and gear lad.  8|
Phil.

joecool85

  • SSGuitar Admin
  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 3206
  • Chip Points: 986
  • SSG Creator
    • View Profile
    • thatraymond.com
Hey Joe,
I hazzard a guess that Digi models just have way too much bandwidth,, = Fizz at high gain.
Well that is what my ears tell me every time I have to repair one of those all in one COSM roland pedal gizmos. yuk
I have a crappy digiteck modeling pedal thing here that I got for nothing and it's the same issue.

Years back I went nuts trying to resolve the 20/20 bandwidth on an old Quadraverb. For their day they were top shelf gear.
while trying to record some guitar tracks with it I ended up just inserting a simple ANALOG Marshall cab sim between the quad and deck,,,, huge improvement.
From what I can gather not much has changed.
So as you can probably guess I'm not a fan of modeling setups.
A young lad asked me only last week why can't I get the sound of the great players from years ago?
Answer, TOO MUCH friggin bandwidth in modern amps and gear lad.  8|
Phil.

That doesn't seem insurmountable though as an engineering feat.  Here's hoping that they figure that out.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
"New" amp: Fender Frontman 25 DSP (FM25DSP)
thatraymond.com

g1

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 632
  • Chip Points: 73
    • View Profile
I'm working on a new pedal for that.  It's called the Degrader.  :cheesy: