Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 25, 2024, 12:15:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

How do you think about my amp?

Started by newbiediy, February 13, 2012, 09:12:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

newbiediy

Hi there...

I'm a newbie both in this awesome forum and in electronics. I need your opinion about my homemade amp.
It is basically a Little Rebel with jfet input buffer for better "clean" sound (not "true" clean as there is always some amount of distortion).

A "demo" video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BO4j-4KXXs (sorry about the bad playing).  :P

Any comment or suggestion will be VERY appreciated.
Sorry for my bad English. We say "laik dis" instead of "like this" in Facebook. :P

J M Fahey

erikb1971

newbiediy

I use a cheap 6" 8ohm 20W speaker. Its brand is ACR. I think this is the spec: http://www.acrspeaker.com/productdetail.php?categ=K12&idproduct=12

Not very ideal for guitar speaker, but it is better sounding and cheaper than woofer type speaker I tried earlier. Any suggestion on the speaker type to improve sound? Please don't suggest Celestion, Eminence, or other branded guitar speaker. They are waaaaayyy too expensive for me. 5" - 6" is preferred because I made my box based on that sizes.

One more question. I added this jfet input buffer in front of the Little Rebel schematic: http://www.muzique.com/lab/buffers.htm
At first I used the basic common drain schematic (the 1st one). Then I tried to improve it (as suggested by the 2nd schematic) by connecting R1 (1M) to 4.5V instead of ground. I got better clean sound indeed...
Then I tried connecting R1 to ground and 4.5V back and forth via a switch to compare the sound. Not for long I got a bonus feature on my amp: FM RADIO RECEIVER!!!  :o
And then I noticed when I connected R1 to 4.5V, both 386 (I use MIK 386) felt very hot. So I decided to connect R1 to ground.