Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

July 13, 2020, 02:00:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

 

Author Topic: Does A500 mean 500 ohms or 500k ohm  (Read 1422 times)

slimjohnny

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Does A500 mean 500 ohms or 500k ohm
« on: October 11, 2019, 12:50:33 PM »
I found this cool preamp schematic that i would like to replicate

https://elektrotanya.com/dean_markley_k-20x_sch.pdf/download.html

But I don't know if the bass pot means 500 ohm or 500k because I didn't find 500 ohm log pots on ebay.
The mid and treble both have the K, so why wouldn't they put it in the bass one as well.

Axldeziak

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Does A500 mean 500 ohms or 500k ohm
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2019, 01:40:33 PM »
Try adjusting your search terms. Using quotation marks " around what your looking for will limit the search to that exact term, "500 ohm". As well using a - before terms you don't want will eliminate them from the search. For example -500k -trimmer -linear ect. You can use - multiple times in a search to eliminate many items at once.
Using that method I found five different 500 ohm log pots.

You could also try getting a dual 1k pot and putting it in parallel with itself to half the value to 500ohm. Or using a linear with resistors to mimic a log pot. https://www.diystompboxes.com/analogalchemy/emh/emh.html

slimjohnny

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Does A500 mean 500 ohms or 500k ohm
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2019, 01:50:15 PM »
Thank you for your advice.

So you think they meant 500 ohm in the scheamatic?

Axldeziak

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Does A500 mean 500 ohms or 500k ohm
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2019, 02:05:42 PM »
I think it does mean 500 ohm. I took a minute to look at other dean markley schematics, such as the k-30, k-65 and they all had the same oddball A500 pot listed.

slimjohnny

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Does A500 mean 500 ohms or 500k ohm
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2019, 07:11:19 PM »
Thank you!

joecool85

  • SSGuitar Admin
  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 3304
  • Chip Points: 991
  • SSG Creator
    • View Profile
    • thatraymond.com
Re: Does A500 mean 500 ohms or 500k ohm
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2020, 07:20:03 AM »
It does indeed mean 500 ohm.  You can get away with a much more common 1k potentiometer without major problems though.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com