collapse

Author Topic: implementing presets  (Read 364 times)

jon_bondy

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
implementing presets
« on: May 01, 2019, 04:26:45 PM »
I'm designing an amplifier based on the Orange Crush series.  The only problem I have with that amp is that there are only two presets (clean and dirty) and the tone controls are shared between the channels.  I want perhaps 5 or 10 presets, each of which uses a different set of values for the various pots.  I could use a huge switch and switch in a bank of pots, but that seems both unreliable and difficult to implement.

Has anyone on this board attempted to implement presets?  What approach did you take?

phatt

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 1992
  • Chip Points: 236
    • View Profile
Re: implementing presets
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2019, 02:51:03 AM »
Hi Jon,, welcome :)
Not a simple project xP  You will need relays, dedicated foot control switches and a one off circuit which may require more power than the tiny 10 watt amp can deliver.
So in my observation it's *False economy* a whole lot of work for little return. :'(
When you can buy a nux pedal (or similar) with 100 user settings for under $100Au
then it's a no brainer. 8|
I'm aware that a lot of players like the idea of an *All in one* amp that does it all but it's rare to find and ones that are capable are likely to cost a small fortune. :-X

As much as I hate the idea of pedal boards they are extremely useful and cost effective.
Also allows for swap and go changes to get other capabilities. Dedicated *Do it all* Amps are not swap and go friendly.
Phil.

jon_bondy

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: implementing presets
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2019, 10:13:42 AM »
Hi, Phil.  Thanks for your comments.

I found these

https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD5228.pdf

https://www.analog.com/en/parametricsearch/10982

Seems that one can now setup a circuit board that usually uses a pot, and replace the pots with these circuits.  Should allow fairly straightforward presets.

I'm just playing around with this project.   And it could well evolve.

:)

Loudthud

  • Elite SSGuitarist
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Chip Points: 30
    • View Profile
Re: implementing presets
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2019, 02:39:50 AM »
Programmable pots open up a lot of possibilities. You could even make some of your stompboxes programmable. Beware that many programmable pots don't like signals that go beyond the rails so you need +/- supplies when the pot has an AC signal on it.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 02:41:45 AM by Loudthud »

Jazz P Bass

  • Elite SSGuitarist
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
  • Chip Points: 10
    • View Profile
Re: implementing presets
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2019, 03:07:50 PM »
Sounds like a fun project.

Although it will take a lot more than simple potentiometer changes to get useful presets.

jon_bondy

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: implementing presets
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2019, 08:53:46 PM »
@Jazz P Bass:

What do you mean by "it will take a lot more than simple potentiometer changes to get useful presets"?  Can you give me a few examples?

 

* User Controls

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Recent Posts

Another Randall RG100ES question by vidmachine
[May 22, 2019, 11:17:47 PM]


Peavey Stereo Chorus 212 by vidmachine
[May 21, 2019, 12:58:44 PM]


Crate gx900h by Basill
[May 21, 2019, 09:19:36 AM]


Heathkit TA16 by GlenF
[May 12, 2019, 10:33:44 PM]


Dual or Split supply Audio amps by phatt
[May 07, 2019, 05:11:13 AM]

* Sponsors