Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

September 23, 2020, 09:42:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

 

Author Topic: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp  (Read 2058 times)

Nickernator

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« on: December 17, 2017, 02:54:56 AM »
Hello, I'm a newbie here, looking for some good people and good help, in regards to fixing my daughter's garage sale find gorilla amp.

The pre amp pot switch seems to have a short and sometimes doesn't allow sound. Usually it causes crackling when adjusted yet still sound comes through.

I tore open the unit and got the info from the pot switch, but I'm having troubles identifying/ordering a replacement. 

The preamp switch/knob turns on distortion from clean with a click, then as you rotate the knob the distortion gets heavier. I'm having troubles identifying this type of switch, and I'm sure it has a name in just not familiar with.

Can anyone help me identify this guy?

Thanks in advance,
-Nick

I'm trying to get pictures to upload asap

Katoda

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Chip Points: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 04:47:35 AM »
Maybe a push-pull potentiometer?

EDIT: Or maybe it's a simple potentiometer with on/off switch? I'll PM you both, as I'm not sure about the forums policy on store links... Gotta go read the terms...
« Last Edit: December 17, 2017, 08:23:14 AM by Katoda »

Nickernator

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2017, 11:17:46 AM »
Here's a picture (hopefully it's uploads)

Nickernator

  • Chipper
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2017, 11:19:03 AM »
And one more..

galaxiex

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Chip Points: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2017, 12:36:41 PM »
Almost "any" 50K pot with a rotary switch will work.

The differences will be in the mounting and knob spline (or lack thereof).
Check also the mounting hole size, although you can always open the hole if needed.

A quick google search found this...

http://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G20953

Use a knob with a set screw. It won't match the other knobs, but who cares...

Or google search images for "50K pot with switch"

https://www.google.ca/search?q=50k+pot+with+switch&rlz=1C1ASUC_enCA634CA634&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiM9N2byJHYAhVD4WMKHQmcBsEQ_AUICigB&biw=1920&bih=949

Look thru images and find one that's close.

You can always run wires from the pot to the board, no need to have the pot mounted directly to the board.

Edit; Or, just mount any old 50K pot and find a place for a separate toggle switch for distortion on/off.

Lots of ways to go with this, if you are not fussy about keeping it "original".
« Last Edit: December 17, 2017, 12:42:26 PM by galaxiex »
If it ain’t broke I’ll fix it until it is.

g1

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 660
  • Chip Points: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2017, 12:48:50 PM »
I would try some cleaner in the pot, and check for bad solder connections first.
No problems in clean mode, right?

Enzo

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 1977
  • Chip Points: 214
    • View Profile
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2017, 12:51:39 PM »
Agree, what is there to lose?  Try some cleaner sprayed into the pot.  We like Deoxit, but most any "tuner cleaner" works.

flester

  • Elite
  • ****
  • Posts: 151
  • Chip Points: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2017, 04:15:33 AM »
I remember Gorilla amps from way back. 'A great little amp even if you dont wear socks'

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


blackcorvo

  • Elite
  • ****
  • Posts: 116
  • Chip Points: 6
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Page
Re: Pot switch replacement on gorilla amp
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2017, 12:56:09 PM »
Before trying to change the component, I'd squirt some contact cleaner into it and turn the pot up and down, to clean it. Then I'd run some compressed air into it to remove any residual dust, turn it again, and try to see if that fixes the noisy pot issue. If it didn't, only then i'd change the pot.

Anyways, here you go. Found something that's probably gonna be suitable to you:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/301295308331

I tried finding the closest to the one you have there, but I don't know if that style of potentiometer has a specific name. Closest I found were these:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/152800148006
https://www.ebay.com/itm/201613342714

Good luck!