Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 02:21:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Fixing a Yamaha G100 112 ii

Started by dropanchor812, July 24, 2015, 11:15:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dropanchor812

Hello all!  New to the forum.  So before I lay out the problem, know that I have some experience with electronics.  I've been building effects pedals for a few years now and I can debug a pedal alright.  If I had a schematic this may be a little easier, but I don't and I can't find one free online.  If anyone has one to share I would be very grateful! 

Okay-  so I got this amp in a trade.  I've heard awesome things about them for years.  It powers on, everything lights up, but there is no sound.  No signal, nothing.  I probed it and it sounds like the input jacks are working, but the signal dies once it gets past the input jack solder joints on the PCB.

The guy I got it from says he doesn't know anything about it, and that he never did anything to it.  In the chassis I found two old power transistors, so it looks like they were changed at some point.  There is a spot on the preamp pcb where it looks like someone tried to fix a busted trace and wired in a jumper to reconnect it. See picture.

I took out the power board the transistors are mounted to, and cleaned up the contacts leading to the second power board (at least thats what I think it is).  They seem to be making good contact.  I've checked the fuses and they're all good. 

Power Board with Trannies:

Power Board up top: