Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 05, 2020, 12:14:52 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Author Topic: Powering your preamps  (Read 5245 times)

Stompin_Tom

  • Master
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Chip Points: 2
    • View Profile
Powering your preamps
« on: August 17, 2006, 04:58:08 PM »
I'm curious... how have others here who've made their own amps powered their preamps... I'm thinking of a 3886 chipamp and I'm considering my options for preamp, transformer, etc... separate transformer, or one with extra secondaries...etc.
myspace.com/bestinventions

Stompin_Tom

  • Master
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Chip Points: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Powering your preamps
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2006, 02:39:21 PM »
No one? I'm just curious... looking for ideas... transformers (scavenged/bought)... powersupply ideas, etc.
myspace.com/bestinventions

joecool85

  • SSGuitar Admin
  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 3230
  • Chip Points: 988
  • SSG Creator
    • View Profile
    • thatraymond.com
Re: Powering your preamps
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2006, 08:32:29 AM »
It seems the best idea is a small secondary transformer, its easy, cheap and supposedly helps cut out unwanted noise.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

turbolx5oh

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Powering your preamps
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2006, 09:50:50 AM »
Check out the preamp schematic in ESP's Project 27.  He uses a power resistor and a Zener diode.  That's how I'm powering my preamp.


Stompin_Tom

  • Master
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Chip Points: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Powering your preamps
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2006, 11:02:34 AM »
I see... yes, that's the sort of solution I was looking for... How would you change the components if you needed a different voltage, I wonder?

Did you decide on a preamp, turbo?
myspace.com/bestinventions

turbolx5oh

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Chip Points: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Powering your preamps
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2006, 03:30:20 PM »
I see... yes, that's the sort of solution I was looking for... How would you change the components if you needed a different voltage, I wonder?

Did you decide on a preamp, turbo?
Well, I have two preamps built and ready to go.  The Sans Amp GT-2 from www.tonepad.com which is a converted stompbox preamp and I've also built the Project 27 preamp from ESP.  One of these should work I'm guessing.  I'm hoping the Sans Amp preamp works like I want it to.  I need to find a nice high gain preamp to play with as well.  Anyone have suggestions?

You can change the resistore to suit the amount of power you need.  The schematic above is set up for about 50 milliamps at +-15v.  35V / 680 = .0515.  If you need more power than that, you can drop the power resistor value some and if you need to change the voltage, use a different value Zener diode.