Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 19, 2024, 05:10:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Can i replace reverb tank in Prince Boogie Copy with an Accutronics tank?

Started by Paolo, June 07, 2012, 10:59:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paolo

JM - What i meant is that i don't need so much technical detail with suggestions because i probably won't understand it; conversely, i need SOME explanation along with the suggestion of how things will work so i can picture it in my mind. People seem forget i'm an electronics novice.

Anyway, good news and bad news on the reverb front:

Before i spring for a reverb tank (yeah you got it!) i need to know it will work WELL, not just work in the manner it does already (ie badly).  As i said, i have a few other old amps (Carlsbro's) that i suspected had Accutronics tanks, and just .. maybe.. a near enough input impedence tank might be lurking in there.  So i dragged out the Carlsboro Lead 100, and sitting inside was a type 1 Accutronics which is the 2 spring smaller tank. Designed for practice amps, a step down from the 3 spring smaller tank, but still USA Accutronics, so all good.

Well, i tested the input and output impedance  and .... it's virtually IDENTICAL to the Prince amp!! This is exactly what i needed, bacause if this works, i know a 3 spring will be even better. So i hooked it up to the Prince and there is a vast 500% improvement over the original 1 spring tank.  Not super lush but pretty good at lower levels.

Now the bad news. The same undercurrent of overdrive fuzz that was present before was still there when the gain knob was also turned up. (If you are following the gain problem post, you will know that the gain knob only functions as a volume with a strange barely audible fuzz gain in the background when turned up from 8-10 or so.)