Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 16, 2024, 02:15:37 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Hello! :)

Started by GuitarLord66, July 07, 2010, 05:22:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GuitarLord66

Hi!  :)

I'm new to the forum and thought I'd introduce myself, My name is Dylan, I'm 17 and I live on the Gold Coast, Australia.
I have been playing guitar for 6 - 7 years now and I have been playing around with electronics since I was a child.
I'm in a forming band, which is finally starting to get together now we have enough members.

I own the following equipment: -

LTD kh-202 electric guitar
Peavey Bandit 112 combo amplifier
TC Electronics G Major multi effects rack unit
BOSS MT-2 metalzone distortion pedal
AKG wireless transmitter/receiver
US-122 Audio/Midi usb interface

I'm extremely interested in building my own amps and effects and I strive to become an electrician.

I have joined this forum because I want to learn how to build amps, I play mainly metal so I want to eventually build a high gain preamp and a clean preamp, or just a preamp with 2 channels? and a power-amp as well, once I can afford a 4x4 speaker cab. I would like to build solid state just for the fact that tubes don't interest me, needing to replace them everything 6 - 12 months and them being fragile just seems annoying to me and I also really REALLY dislike tube snobs... tubes seem so outdated?

So really, all in all, I'm asking where should I start?

DJPhil

Welcome :)