Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 05:05:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Orange 35RT humming/buzzing

Started by bsilverop, February 18, 2023, 05:57:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bsilverop

I just started playing again after about a 20 year break. I bought a new Orange 35RT amp and plugged my old epiphone SG into it, and the amp makes a very loud buzzing/humming sound when I turn up the gain past 20%. I tried new cables as well without any change. It stops if I put my finger on the string or another metal part of the guitar. Thinking it was the old guitar, I went out and bought a new one, and the exact same thing happens.

Unfortunately I don't have any other amp to test on at home, but seems like the issue is with the amp. I'm thinking of returning it and exchanging for another one, but wondering if this has happened to someone else before. Thanks!

Loudthud

Is the amp being plugged into a working, properly grounded outlet ? Try a different outlet. If that doesn't work, take it back to where you purchased it and see if it works there.

bsilverop

Quote from: Loudthud on February 19, 2023, 12:26:26 AMIs the amp being plugged into a working, properly grounded outlet ? Try a different outlet. If that doesn't work, take it back to where you purchased it and see if it works there.
Yes I've also tried other outlets throughout the house and have the same issue. I'm going to take it to the shop where I bought my new guitar and see that everything works fine on one of their amps to rule out the guitar, and will probably take my amp with me. I requested a return on Amazon where I bought it but want to make sure it's not my guitars or outlets first. Thanks!

willpirkle

Is the pitch of the hum between a Bb and a B?

g1

How can you play without touching the strings?

bsilverop