Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 05:45:33 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

piggy back pre-amps?

Started by Gremlin, January 05, 2015, 11:23:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gremlin

I'm multi tasking here :loco while trying to fix one amp I am building another. I mean if I built my guitar why not build my own amp.

DISCLAIMER:KEEP IN MIND I'M A NOOB TO GUITAR AMP CIRCUTS.

I can understand and follow schematics, know transistor values, know what most of the parts are and the basics of what they do and my soldering skills are decent. I am in the process of building a LM3886 mono amp from Chipamp.com

I have ordered these two kits and was wondering if anyone has any experience with either of these pre-amps?

http://secure.oatleyelectronics.com/files/K261notes.pdf
http://secure.oatleyelectronics.com/files/K270notes.pdf

Anyway here is the thought process of what I'm thinking of doing.
Guitar > k261 preamp > gain > k270 preamp > volume > LM3886 amp.
My theory is to use the k261 like a gain channel. I have a transformer from a powered speaker (9 volt 1 amp) that I can power both preamps with by changing a couple resistors on the k261. Is this a do-able setup? Or am I setting myself up for failure?
The harder I try the behinder I get

galaxiex

Oh Oh... I recently bought those exact kits from Oatley and both kits have microphonic tubes.

They have a disclaimer on their site that mentions this (the tubes being microphonic) and recommend putting rubber grommets over the tubes to stop the "ringing" sound.

I did this to no avail... even encased the whole tube in heat shrink and still have microphonic ringing.
The boards are basically unusable.

The fault is with the tubes themselves. I don't know if these are factory "seconds" or what, or just inherent in those particular tubes.
Maybe I just got a couple of bad one's?