Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 05:40:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

How to match a preamp with a poweramp?

Started by SDRed, October 27, 2007, 04:56:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SDRed

Hi everyone, this is my first post here and I'm excited about this forum, I've been reading all I can trying to learn since I've recently started in this addicting hobby.  These questions may be common sense to some, but since I'm new to this and so are others who are searching this forum for answers, I thought some explanation would be most helpful.

My question is about knowing how to hook up a preamp to a power amp and how to power both.

Correct me if I'm wrong:
1.  It isn't as simple as connecting the preamp out to the amplifier in.  There has to be some match in resistence?  If so, how does one go about calculating that.

2.  How are both preamp and poweramp typically powered together.  Does each have its own transformer that are hooked together somehow?  Do they both run off the same power supply?

3.  For my next project, I'd like to use one of the ROG emulators as a pre with an amp on the GGG site.  I know that some other posters here said that they were also going to attempt such feats, but I have not read of any success stories.  Keep in mind I don't want this to be an external preamp, I'd like it to be all one unit.

and Lastly if the preamp is usually running on 9v and the amp is made to run on 18v bipolar power, can the 18v bipolar simply power both? 

Thanks for whatever information you can give me, I look forward to your responses.

LJ King

#0 - The first rule is that there are no rules.