Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 09:39:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Fender Champion Blinking Power Light

Started by brash1952, July 04, 2015, 08:00:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brash1952

I'm very new to amp repair so bear with me. I purchased a non-working Fender Champion 100, it would not power on at all. I found it had a blown fuse on the pre-amp board, so I soldered in a new fuse, it blew immediately when I plugged it in and powered it. I then saw it had a visibly burned out bridge rectifier and two surface mount capacitors. I replaced the rectifier and capacitors. It at least doesn't blow the fuse when I turn it on now, but all I get is a blinking power light, nothing else seems to power on. Any thoughts?

Enzo

get the schematic from Fender or other source, then either post it or link to it so we can assist. 

First step is to verify all power supply voltages are present and getting to the circuits.

J M Fahey

I think (may be wrong)  that it's a version of their very popular FM212 but with digital effects, so preamp will be different but power amp and supply (which can't be software emulated ;) )  should be about the same.

And your problem hints at a failing/intermittent power supply.

Unless they went all the way and are using an SMPS  :o

In that case, the blinking Led might indicate an SMPS trying to start and failing, maybe because of a shorted load :(

Oh well.

nosaj

Is this it?
http://www.fender.com/guitar-amplifiers/contemporary/champion-100/product-2330400.html
Quick search turns up no schematic you may have to directly call them for one.

Thanks,
nosaj

brash1952

Thanks, for your responses and suggestions. I do have the schematic - I got it from Fender. I will post it soon.
Thanks Again!

brash1952