Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 05:02:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

crate glx 65 half the volume, then slow fade to silence

Started by DiverDown, February 28, 2013, 05:57:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DiverDown

Hi guys! Brand new here, and so glad i found this forum. you can't find jack for info on solid state amps. lol. Well i'm still a noob with electronics, but i'm learning. the hard way it seems. lol. i have a kinda recent crate gfx 65. it sounds fine, nice clean signal and all effects work and sound like they should. except there's only half the volume until it get warmed up after about 20 minutes then the sound slowly fades away to nothing. everything visually looks fine. i was thinking maybe it's the big caps in the power stage. which i can't seem to get loose since they glued the bajesus out of it. lol. any suggestions on how to get them out, or maybe i should be checking other areas as well?

thanks,
mike

Enzo

Leave them alone.   Why do you think they are the problem?

If main filter caps fail, you get loud hum from the unfiltered power that results.   You don't get fading output.

First suspects are always the jacks with cutout contacts.   You have a jack on the panel for extension speaker?   It has a cutout contact, and if that gets dirty, you can lose level or sound altogether.   Easy test is to just plug so0me extension cab into that jack.  If all the speakers now sound, the jack is the issue.

You have an insert jack that can cause the same issues.  Poke a plug in and out of that jack a couple times and see if it wakes up the amp.

Right next to the extension speaker jack is a large 5 watt power resistor, R77.  Check it for opens.   It is a 0.1 ohm or 0.2 ohm, so it will read like a short on your meter if it is good.   Also check its solder or wiggle it to see if it is loose.  Does wiggling it restore sound?