Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 06:38:23 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Tech 21 Power Engine

Started by jmdfd415, February 22, 2007, 07:19:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmdfd415

I have a sansamp gt2 and I wanted to run it through a poweramp like the Power Engine by tech 21.  Does anybody know of a poweramp I could make that is similar to that?  I am new to amp building but I have built alot of pedals so I really dont know much about amps.  Thanks for any advice!

joecool85

Could you give me a link to this "Power Engine"?  I've never heard of it.  We can help you on building a power amp though.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

jmdfd415

Here is the link.  I am looking for something like the 1x12 on here.

http://tech21nyc.com/pe60.html

joecool85

Yeah, that shouldn't be too hard.  60wRMS power output is easy.  The LM3886 has 50wRMS at 8 ohms and 68wRMS at 4 ohms.  So run a 4 ohm speaker (or two 8 ohm speakers) and you'd get the power quivelent.  After that it's just finding the right speakers to make it sound right.
thatraymond.com

jmdfd415

Could you point me in the right direction of where I should start?

joecool85

thatraymond.com

Zappacat

Quote from: jmdfd415 on February 22, 2007, 07:19:37 PM
I have a sansamp gt2 and I wanted to run it through a poweramp like the Power Engine by tech 21.  Does anybody know of a poweramp I could make that is similar to that?  I am new to amp building but I have built alot of pedals so I really dont know much about amps.  Thanks for any advice!
Did you ever build an amp?  I posted a similar question here recently and stumbled across your posting while searching for information.  Let me know what you ended up doing if you get the chance.  Thanks!
I put my pants on just like the rest of you - one leg at a time. Except, once my pants are on, I make gold records.