Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:23:44 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Newbie…kinda - idea for first build

Started by Maddus, December 17, 2023, 12:29:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Maddus

Hello there,
my name is Martin and I joined here because I have this design idea, and I bet there will be more to come after that. Although I'm an electrics/electronics professional, my knowledge is more about energy distribution, generation and sensors/actors. So I'm not necessarily an expert in signal processing, that's where this forum comes into play.
I have this vision to make a small practice amp, where I use a Drive55 pedal pcb as a preamp and the Vellemann K4001(TDA2003) as the power amp. This will be built into a combo cabinet with a 10" speaker. For the power supply I would like to use a toroidal transformer (2x 6V/1,25A secondary, can be bridged).
My first question is, how do put this all together, what is additionally needed impedance-wise between the modules and modifications on the Vellemann board?

Components links:

https://docs.pedalpcb.com/project/PedalPCB-Drive55.pdf

https://cdn.velleman.eu/downloads/0/illustrated/illustrated_assembly_manual_k4001.pdf

Tassieviking

G'day and welcome to the forum.
In my opinion the Drive-55 will not have enough output to drive the power amplifier properly, you will still need a pre-amplifier as well.
You can incorporate the Drive-55 in it like a dirty channel but it wount have enough gain by itself. (In my opinion)

PedalPCB have a lot of Preamp pedals and many of them will most likely drive that amp.

There is the Honey Amp project designed by people on this site (Thanks JoeCool) that is a great starter amp, and you can use the Drive-55 pedal with it as well.
Just look at the top right of the page for the link to the shop.