Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

May 14, 2024, 03:30:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

hello everyone im the new guy!

Started by smsuryan, October 17, 2010, 04:00:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smsuryan

So i have dave hunter's book about building tube amps...im still studying all of this stuff and trying to digest how to make an amp...ive made guitars before and saved a lot of money doing it myself and now id like to make the jump to amps...also i just ordered a vox pathfinder 15r which im stoked about getting soon!  a few questions:
are solid states less expensive to make compared to tube amps?...you dont need tubes obviously and i dont know about the pt and the ot, if theyre are in solid states...
where do i start studying how to make ss amps?  books?  this site of course...
i used to work for a living assembling and soldering curcuit boards so i know some basics about grounding and soldering and a little schematics...
also look at this board....it came from my central air unit, had to get it replaced...anything useable on it?  or should i just 86 the thing?  thanks...thats all the questions i can think of now...

J M Fahey

Google "jack darr's electric guitar amplifier handbook" which will give you a general introduction.
That board carries 3 12V general purpose relays plus 2 heavy duty ones.
I'd at least salvage them.

DJPhil

Welcome!
Quote from: smsuryan on October 17, 2010, 04:00:55 PMare solid states less expensive to make compared to tube amps?...you dont need tubes obviously and i dont know about the pt and the ot, if theyre are in solid states...