Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 29, 2024, 01:51:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Portable Amp

Started by tommy24, November 12, 2009, 08:36:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tommy24

Hi,
I'm totally new to building guitar amps, and i've challenged myself to building a small portable guitar amp. I have a basic knowledge of electronics, but i was wondering if anybody could direct me on where to start. I would ideally like to design the schematic my self, does anybody know of any usefull books or schematics to have a look at to get an idea of how to approach this project and how to get started.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Tom

J M Fahey

Hi Tommy.
Google "Ruby amplifier".
It's a great project to start with.
Our friend here, Sergscar, has built a very nice one, the "Scarface" , search it in ssguitar, that will give you some ideas.
Post what you build or any doubts.
Juan Manuel Fahey
EDIT: I've found it
http://www.ssguitar.com/index.php?topic=1091.msg6693;topicseen

tommy24

Thanks for the reply. The 'ruby amplifier' looks like an excellent place to start! Sergscar has done an excellent job of making one. I will have a go at making one myself. Il post any pictures of progress or problems i have.

Also could you recommend any jack sockets to use on the project, am i right in saying i require a stereo socket?

The help is very much appreciated. Thankyou.

Tom

joecool85

Quote from: tommy24 on November 12, 2009, 12:48:03 PM
Thanks for the reply. The 'ruby amplifier' looks like an excellent place to start! Sergscar has done an excellent job of making one. I will have a go at making one myself. Il post any pictures of progress or problems i have.

Also could you recommend any jack sockets to use on the project, am i right in saying i require a stereo socket?

The help is very much appreciated. Thankyou.

Tom