Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 02:11:38 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Increase low end by modifying the circuit

Started by longngocvu, July 13, 2013, 09:00:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

longngocvu

Hello,

My cheap SX Ga1065 practice amp seems to lack some bass.

I'm an absolute beginner so i don't know if it's possible to increase the low end of the amp by changing some coupling caps or resistors.  If so, can you guys tell me which ones and the new values they need to be. 

Thanks,

Here is the schematic:

Roly

You could try increasing the value of some of the coupling caps such as C1 to double or triple its current value (0.22-0.47uF), but you may have other factors working against you, such as a small speaker/box.
If you say theory and practice don't agree you haven't applied enough theory.

J M Fahey

Fully agree.
That schematic in fact looks quite good, and will sound very well ifconnected to a 4x12" .... or at least a 1x12" , but with the original 6.5"  :duh speaker, forget it.

Only result you'll get is having the little speaker fart horribly with bass it can't handle.

Make a proper hole in the back panel , add a switching jack, so the external speaker cuts the internal one off, and enjoy.

For examples on how real tiny amps sound when hooked to a proper speaker:

Here they go from a rather good 8" to a 4 x 12":

http://www.youtu.be/XzDohmkXeJs

this is a 9v battery powered, 1/2W cigarette box sized amp, into a 2x12" :

http://www.youtu.be/pdWKAAL9qco

Enzo

Agreed.  You can probably increase the low end response of the amp, but it probably has enough already.   The little speaker simply cannot make low notes.

If you disconnect the little speaker in there now, and connect your amp to a regular 4x12 guitar cab, you will be AMAZED at how much bigger the sound is.