Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 04:40:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

traynor amp repair

Started by junkman, June 08, 2008, 06:15:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

junkman

ive got a traynor reverb mate 40 that a friend brought to me to repair it has two tda 2030 amps for its power section, one was destroyed ( it looked like it had exploded) and the other one didnt work when i put it in another 2030 10 watt amp.  he got the amp from his cousin  along with a bass guitar that he had been playing through the amp. 
i am replacing the 2030s and i also am socketing all of the opamps in the preamp/chourus/reverb sections for purposes of experementation.  i wonder if anyone has any experience with such an amp and could offer any input, or comments. i am still reletively new at this stuff, i am self taught and still learning. i have built several stompboxes and 386 type amps but i am just getting into amplifiers so any help is welcome.

teemuk

junkman

junkman

im i right in thinking that playing a bass through this amp might have blown the 2030s, or should i check for something else?

junkman

i just got the traynor together and it works pretty good, its not very loud though, i can see why so many people in here advise against 2030 amps. still fun though and now i got a new amp.   ive got a few transformers laying around that are similar to the one in the traynor, i  also have a few more 2030s left over.  im going to try and build a similar amp/amps from scratch, ill let you know how it goes.  i love this site and i  look forward to learning more  from this excelent resourse

J M Fahey