Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 07:56:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Headphone Amp

Started by scotteza, February 11, 2008, 04:53:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scotteza

I'd like to build a small amp that basically lets me plug my guitar in one end, and a pair of headphones with a 3.5mm jack into the other, does anyone have a schematic for such a thing. I only need a clean channel for practising when everyone is asleep. I work as a .Net programmer, so my skill levels in electronics aren't particularly high, so I'd like to use this as a starter project.

Scott

joecool85

You can use the little gem or ruby as a headphone amp.  Both schematics are posted on this forum in the schematics section, as well as on runoffgroove.com

Welcome to the board  8|
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

teemuk

Something like Ruby or Little Gem will definitely work but the question is how good. As far as I'm familiar with those kinds of designs they are at their best when used in getting moderately or heavily overdriven tones through a decent guitar cabinet. They will be extremely clean with the small power levels involved in headphone amplification. However, much of "tone" will be lost due to extremely stripped preamp features such as lack of tone or overdrive controls. The sound you get through a simple device like this will also be way different than the sound equalized by a speaker cabinet. Usually rather horrid.