Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 24, 2024, 05:54:44 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

New Member Roland Cube 20 Orange question

Started by monfi, September 11, 2015, 09:05:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

monfi

Hello I'm new here, and new in building amp, but i've some experience in pedals, so I've a question.
I will build a orange cube 20 i've found the schematics in net and I hope are right :) I will build only with clean and overdrive sound no tremolo.
I've remove from scheme the thing i not wanna to build, and I hope I've do it right.
I can use a normal dual trasformer 220 (i'm from Italy) to +24/ground/- 24 in diagram is 24.5?
Other question, if someone had a all transistor (no IC) similar or most simple with more common transistor and with only one current need like 12 15 18 24 or 36 can post or send me the schematics?
Thanks in advance

phatt

Hi Monfi, welcome  :tu:
That amplifier circuit  has a discrete power amp stage and if you are not conversant with these I'd advise you to build the preamp section up to mater volume (as you have shown) but use a chip amp power section. That will save a lot of time and sound just as good. 8)

Even an LM1875 on split rail will get you  10~15 Watts.
It might look complex but Split supply rails is the better option.
Others here will likely give you good advice on details and how to build. 
Phil.

monfi

Thanks, you mean some like this?

inviato e basta :)

phatt

Yep it's that simple and unlike the Cube 20 power amp stage,,, Chip Amps come with built in protection. :dbtu:

Power amplifier circuits like the Cube 20 have no short circuit protection and one tiny momentary short on the speaker end can blow the whole Amp. :'( :'( :'(
They rely on the speaker being internal with no outside connection so it never gets shorted out.