Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 09:15:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

First Foray Into Amp Building - Please Help

Started by nipperiodic, December 05, 2014, 06:49:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nipperiodic

Hello.

I've been lurking on the forums as a guest for a while now and finally built up the courage to ask some questions. Please don't bite and please bear with me while I give you an idea of where I'm coming from.

I'm a noise maker (via guitar) and enjoy poking and prodding things that I probably shouldn't. I have some previous experience using a soldering iron for simple circuits, and can follow layouts to wire up guitar electronics. However, the workings of amps currently mystify me. I can read the schematics for an amp, but I don't really understand what is going on (i.e. why are those resistors there in parallel to those capacitors, etc.) So, I'm interested in putting together a frugal practice amp to hopefully learn something.

Right now I either plug my guitar into my computer or plug in to a small Fender practice amp (don't remember the model off hand), so just about anything will be an upgrade. This also means I need an amp and some type of speaker cabinet, preferably both DIY. I've done some searching on my own, but I'm at a loss for where to start.

Anyways on to my desires. Feel free to tell me I'm asking for too much from a simple project.

To start out, I want a practice amp that is so clean, the sound waves shine as they leave the speaker. In my mind, a good practice amp will allow me to get a feel for the frequency response of the pickups and also give me a good idea of what a pedal is/isn't capable of. In the future I'd like to have good, switchable distortion, dirt, whatever, but that's a long way off.