Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 05:22:20 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

18watts peak-power amp

Started by benzer, September 15, 2007, 10:34:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

benzer

hey folks ,,this is the amp that i told ya about ,,again i wanna say im new to this and i designed this one hoping it works
i would like to know if there is any mistakes and problems in this design.
the output transistors are
Q1 = BD139
Q2 = BD140
Q3 = BD540
Q4 = BD539
the op amp im using is the TL074 because it has a high slew rate about 13v/uS
in the offset circuit im using 2 opamps because one cannot sink the currnet coming from the diodes alone.
i put 5 diodes in series with the 0.8k resistor to provide quisent curent of 30 mA which i think is suitable and to provide enough voltage drop between the first two base emitter transistors junctions.
the offset circuit is nessasry bcz the output voltage is 0 when the input signal down the diodes is -0.5 volts,so i offset the signal by -0.5 volts before driving the power transistors
in the tone control citcuit im using a pot that should take the values between (10k and more) and a variable cap between (10nf and more)
to give the pot the minimum value which is 10k is to boost the bass.
to give the cap the minimum value which is 10nf is to boost the treble.
the bandpass fiter i chose is the first order one because the phase response is the best.
i hope that u guys tell me what do u think about this amp and any advice would be welcome.

Good OL' BeN

teemuk