Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 07:25:20 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Easy ss battery power amp?

Started by SirSix, June 18, 2012, 06:06:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SirSix

Hey everyone, I've been search the web for some ideas and ended up reading through a few threads here and it seems like people have been in general very helpful so I figured I'd ask a few questions if that's okay. :)

I'm a beginner amp builder. I normally just build Cigar box guitars and pickups but recently I came across a brand new Ragin Cajun 10" speaker. I'd like to use it to build a combo with a simple (possibly battery powered?) amp with a tone, vol, gain, overdrive switch where the cabinet can double as a seat to play on if that makes sense.

I've seen the "Noisy Cricket" and it seems pretty simple. Seems like even though the battery doesn't last long it would still work in a pinch (with the wallwart for extended play) and even though it's not loud it would be loud enough for my uses. However I can't seem to find a parts list of exactly what I would need.

My question(s) is(are) would anyone here recommend the noisy cricket and if so would anyone happen to have a list of exactly the parts I would need to build it? Would anyone recommend a different easy project? The speaker is 10" 75w 8ohm. I have no aversion to dropping the battery powered aspect in lieu of a decent, easy-ish, amp project. I've researched the best dimensions for the speaker and have plenty of Cedar I can work with for the cabinet. I'm also pretty competent with electronics even if I'm completely new at building amps so soldering etc is not an issue for me.

Thanks ahead of time for any input or info! :)

J M Fahey

Agree and add: start with the noisy cricket.
Good practice and is fun.
Just not too loud.
Enough to annoy family, not much outdoors.