Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 30, 2024, 03:34:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Using Randall RG-80 as a recording preamp - speaker load?

Started by daffe, May 15, 2008, 11:31:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

daffe

Hi,

Newbie here, newly converted to the beauty of ss guitar amps.

I would like to use my RG-80 combo as a recording preamp.  The goal is of course to plug-in directly into a di box into my recording interface while disconnecting the speaker to record silently.

My question is : How should I go about doing that.

1- Should I use the speaker out jack or the effect send from the amp to the di box?

2- What about the speaker load?  Do I need some sort of load compensation for the power amp?

Maybe I'm missing something so feel free to add any other consideration to the discussion.

Many thanks.

teemuk

Well, what's the input sensitivity of the DI box? That will define a lot of things because if you use the speaker output as signal source you might have to attenuate the signal considerably. That signal will have very high amplitude and in worst case the signal can toast the input stages of your recording equipment. But, doesn't RG-80 have a post-power amp stage "signal output" jack, which is already attenuated? The schematic I'm looking at shows one but there might have been plenty of revisions.