Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 10:56:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Hello! Bandit re-do

Started by BobbyBooby, March 12, 2009, 08:25:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BobbyBooby

Hi,

I'm completely new to amp building.

I've got an old (late 80's) Peavey Bandit 65 that needs repair.  The speaker is only a couple years old (12" Scorpion) and the power supply is good.  I could salvage other parts off it possibly.  The cabinet is in good shape.

I have the schematics for the amp from Peavey.

Is it a possibility to attempt to build a "new" amp using the good parts from this old amp.

It seems like such a waste to trash this old warrior.

It just isn't worth taking to a shop for professional repair. 

Any suggestions as to how i might approach such a project?

Thank you.

J M Fahey

Hi Bobby. You have two widely different paths ahead, the choice is yours.
If you have to play with it in short time, just try to repair it and use it.
If you have something else to play with, and want to experiment; now you have an excellent testbed with about half of the homebuilder´s problems solved: cabinet, transformer, chassis, speaker, etc.
In that case you can pull the old PC boards, start by building a new power supply recycling old diodes and filters, and then experiment at will with pre and power amps.
One project you might want to test would be to build a Randall clone, which is not that complex and provides a unique sound.
You might start by the power amp, then the preamp, and later the reverb as an add-on.
Good luck.

BobbyBooby

Thanks for the reply JM. 

I have another Bandit to use (I like Bandits!  <3)) so I can afford to experiment with the busted one.

I seem to recall seeing something about the Randall clone.  Is that somewhere on this site?