Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 07:33:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Which amplifier to build first?

Started by rockaffe, March 06, 2023, 01:59:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rockaffe

Hi everyone!
I'm a novice amp builder and for about a year now I've been building guitar effects and small amps (little gem, noisy cricket etc.)
I don't have great knowledge of electronics, but I'm trying to catch up by studying as much as possible.
My welcome question would be this, if anyone has the time and willingness to help me: if you were to recommend to a beginner a first amplifier a little more "serious" than those mentioned above, what would it be?
And if you had to indicate suitable readings for the beginner himself, what would they be?
I thank all those who will spend a few minutes to give me a hand.
(And pardon the English, translated thanks to Google)

HI!

joecool85

Welcome to the forum!  If you are interested in a small amp, the SSGuitar Honey Amp is a great little unit.  It's going to have the same output as the Little Gem, but has an actual preamp circuit with tone control and more functional gain control as well.  I'm working on version 2 right now, so the original is on sale: https://store.ssguitar.com/product/honey-amp-kit/

If you want something bigger, I would want to know "how big" you want to go.  Eventually I will be selling a proper separate preamp as well as 20w power amp that you could purchase and assemble - this is honestly probably a year or two off though as I have a lot of projects going right now.  There are certainly others out there, but it depends on how much you want to do yourself vs buying a kit.  Not a lot of solid state kits out there for guitar amps worth building.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

Tassieviking