Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 03:47:50 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Hafler DH-220 as basis for guitar amp?

Started by bartbrn, July 19, 2011, 09:12:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bartbrn

Hi -- I'm 62 years old and not quite senile. My background is as an experimental machinist and electronics assembly supervisor for the Inertial Upper Stage payload delivery system for the original Space Shuttle program. I am (or was) a NASA-certified and qualified microelectronics solderer.

That being said, my knowledge of esoteric audio electronics is pretty much nil.

I have, kicking around in my dangerously overloaded workshop, a cosmetically-beat but electronically fine Hafler DH-200 power amp, the first American production amplifier to use complementary MOSFETs (8 of 'em) in its output stage. MOSFETs are almost immune to thermal runaway (unlike standard power transistors then in common use in SS amplifiers).

This amp, in stereo form, is conservatively rated at 120W/ch, and bridged to mono at 300+ watts at .005% THD. I've used DH200s in several audio systems, and among the Hafler's characteristics I think would make a bridged Hafler a good candidate for guitar amplification are its high damping factor and excellent slew rate.

My electronically uninformed thinking is that my spare DH-200 might make the basis for a pretty decent guitar amp. Am I full of baloney or is this a feasible project? If it IS a feasible project, what kind, how big, and how many drivers would be optimum for a cabinet driven at this level of power, and what kind of cabinet should I be thinking about?