Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 19, 2024, 06:02:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

what exactly is a preamp

Started by franklin01, August 19, 2006, 10:53:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

franklin01

i am completely new to this whole guitar amp thing, and i have no idea how they work, for example, what is a preamp and what does it do? ive heard of thm but never really had thm explained to me, please help me!!
thanks

Crystallas

Its an amp that gives you a set of options and adjustments to add to the main amp.

joecool85

More specifically it is a device with an amplification stage, it boosts the signal high enough for the power amp to use it effectively.  A guitar normally only puts out a few tenths of a volt, a preamp boosts it to several volts.  Some preamps are just that one part I mentioned, others have EQ sections as well (treble, mids, bass) and even effects.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

franklin01

ohhh, i think i get it now, so the preamp is the part usually near the top with all this nobs, and the power amp is the actual speaker? do i have this right??

joecool85

Close.  This is how it works:

Input (in our case, guitar) makes the signal, it gets processed by the preamp to make it into a usable voltage for the power amp.  The power amp amplifies the signal to speaker level, the speaker hooks directly to the power amp.

Input         [-----------PREAMP--------------] [POWERAMP]
Guitar ----> Treble | Mids | Bass | Volume | Master ----> Speaker

Does that help?
thatraymond.com

franklin01

ok so i get the preamp part, but please bear with me because now im having problems with the power amp part! so the power amp would be the part that has control over the speaker?(volume and such??)

joecool85