Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

May 09, 2024, 05:53:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Help replacing Kustom 1-L inputs - With Photos!

Started by Hobojangles, November 29, 2011, 03:41:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hobojangles

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here in the forums, and I'm seeking counsel on an issue I'm having with my Kustom 1-L head.

I took it out of an old 1-L combo, the speaker was dead, but the head was not so I decided to test it on a spare 2x12 cabinet, and it had an amazing tone, so I've been using it with that ever since.

I've got some experience with electronics - I've done some soldering and made a few guitar cabs before, so I have some idea of what I'm doing. My issue is that the inputs I'm trying to use to replace the old ones are completely different to the ones already in the head. They have the same amount of pins, and they contact the tip and sleeve in the same way as the old ones, so I figure it should work - I just don't know which connections to solder where. Essentially what I need is a diagram that points out which pins on my new inputs are equivalent to those on the older input. I'm planning to reuse the capacitors already in the head.

Here's some pictures to give you guys a better idea.

joecool85

Best way to check what goes where is to plug in a guitar cord and use a DMM set to "diode" and check which pin makes it "beep" when touching the tip, sleeve etc.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

phatt

Won't work,,Wrong type of socket.
The socket you are trying to replace is a special purpose switch setup.
Probably switches some FBack tricks when the second speaker jack is inserted.

If it works don't mess with it.
Phil.

J M Fahey

Best will be to get the same exact ones, for minimum fuss.
They will also fit in the original holes.