Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

January 22, 2022, 03:31:37 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

 

Author Topic: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec  (Read 641 times)

mikebarg

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Chip Points: 1
    • View Profile
SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« on: December 10, 2021, 12:10:06 PM »
I'm working on an SWR Workingman's 12 combo(100 watts). I need  a full wave bridge rectifier. I have the schematic, but it doesn't show a spec for the rectifier. I checked the board and the spacing looks like .5 inches between legs. I'm thinking 5amp at 400+ volts should be enough. Any thoughts?

g1

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 725
  • Chip Points: 93
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2021, 01:43:01 PM »
With 4 ohm load, 100W requires 5 amps.  I think you need some leeway there.  I would guess 8 to 10A would be much more reliable.

Enzo

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 2081
  • Chip Points: 239
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2021, 01:43:28 PM »
First, what numbers are printed on the part?

mikebarg

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Chip Points: 1
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2021, 10:08:58 PM »
It's a DB604. According to the datasheet that's a 400V, 3A.

Enzo

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 2081
  • Chip Points: 239
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2021, 10:34:20 PM »
I saw that data sheet, but in general I expect a 604 bridge to be rated at 6A 400v.  In any case 6A sounds like a better choice than 3A here.  Or 8A even.

mikebarg

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Chip Points: 1
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2021, 10:48:21 PM »
I agree. Thanks for the input. I'm wondering if this part had been replaced before. The board is marked with an X next to the part and the size is a little too small. The legs were bent out a little to get them through the board.

Enzo

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 2081
  • Chip Points: 239
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2021, 01:07:44 AM »
I could be wrong, but I often mark boards when I work on them just for reference.  I suspect your X is really a +.  Someone marked the + corner so they wouldn't have to figure it out later.

g1

  • Legendary
  • ******
  • Posts: 725
  • Chip Points: 93
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2021, 01:45:35 PM »
It's a DB604. According to the datasheet that's a 400V, 3A.
I saw that data sheet, but in general I expect a 604 bridge to be rated at 6A 400v. 

Was that a download, or was it the 'specs' listed on the datasheets360 page?
That 'specs' page looks to be their own list with a typo.  The pdf they offer on that page shows the part to be 6A. (see attached)

mikebarg

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Chip Points: 1
    • View Profile
Re: SWR Workingman's 12 combo - Full wave Bridge spec
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2021, 11:14:36 AM »
That makes since. It wouldn't be the first time I got inaccurate information online.
I went ahead and pulled the part and it tested good. So, I need to go back and re-evaluate.