Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 08:24:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Circuit for these tubes

Started by Fossilshark, May 26, 2016, 10:35:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fossilshark

Im looking for a circuit based on one of these tubes. Also if any of them are 12ax7 equivalent please tell me.

12B4A (i have two of these but only one of the rest on the list)
12CA5
12AL5
35C5
12BD6
12X4
12FX5
12BDK5
12BA7

Im looking for a preamp but if any of these can be used as a power tube i need one of those too. Im just a beginner and these are all i have access too at the momemt

Loudthud

Data I have from the book Essential Characteristics:

12B4A   Low gain preamp triode can work with 6.3V heater
12CA5   Small power tube good for 1.5W
12AL5    Dual low current diode
35C5     Small power tube good for 1.5W  Needs 35V heater supply
12BD6   RF Pentode might work as a preamp
12X4     Rectifier tube
12FX5   ???? Did you mean 12FX8?
12BDK5  Did you mean 12BD5?
12BA7   Radio tube not useful for guitar amp

Fossilshark

Thanks that helps me alot. Heres what i have

Enzo

And also be aware that all those tubes starting with 12 need 12.6v for heaters, rather than the common 6.3v.  12AX7s can be wired for either, making them an exception.

Those low power output tubes were used in things like table radios, TVs, and home intercoms.

sa230e

You're probably going to have to either design a circuit yourself or adapt a non-guitar circuit to your needs if you want to use those tubes. Even back in the day when tubes were current technology and there was a cornucopia of tubes for designers to play with the major amp manufacturers generally stuck to a few models of tube which are the same ones still being produced and used in guitar amps to this day.