Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 07:07:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

First Hybrid

Started by baene123, October 08, 2009, 01:17:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baene123

hi, so this is my first time into this forum and it's my first message.... So, I'd like to built on my own a new guitar amplifier based on two stages:
1) preamp, I have two tubes by electro-harmonics like 12BH7a, than i want to use them to make a preamp, but only a clean channel, because these tubes have a "little" gain, than a distortion channel is too  difficult to do.
2) amplifier, I'd like to use two LM3886 in parallel to get 100W on 4 Ohms, but I don't know if LM3886 is a good chip for audio riproducing and a good audio quality... so, i'm not sure.... anyone have this experience by usuing a LM3886 chip? is it good? so, i'd like to use LM3886 because its cheaper than CMOS or BJT guitar amplifier

thank for all
and sorry for my bad english :-)

armstrom

The first thing to keep in mind is that you will have to greatly attenuate the tube preamp. Depending on how many gain stages you use and what kind of other losses are introduced (tone stacks, for example) you will end up with very high signal voltages coming out of your preamp stage. Most SS power amps are set up to handle 1V RMS or less input signal and will clip horribly at any signal above this level. As for the suitability of the LM3886 I think you're on the right track. These chips are known for being very linear and transparent. They're very low noise when built with a good circuit layout.
-Matt

baene123

Quote from: armstrom on October 08, 2009, 01:40:34 PM