Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 23, 2024, 10:27:44 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

NEWBIE QUESTION

Started by distortion101, December 28, 2012, 08:40:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

distortion101

OK, Im new here as i found this forum by searching this question with no luck what so ever. I have an Ibanez TBX150 Head that i loved in the store because it had great amounts of distortion. (I am a metal guitarist on a budget) :)

Well as a year has passed i dont want to buy a bunch of stomps but thought about sending in my head to have it modded to push out as much distortion (i.e. Gojira and like bands) with that deep punch but tight with a possible mid sweep. But i can almost get that but the lack of distortion is pretty bad now.

Does anyone know of a company that mods amps?? i came up with nothing on google:(

thanks

J M Fahey

Save yourself a lot of frustration (and $$$$$$) and don't send it away to be modded.
Besides, these amps with lots of tiny SMT parts, probably with some digital processing included, don't allow easy modding (if any at all).
Lower your "help" pedals to two.
1) anything reasonable to add (even more?  :duh) distortion.
You don't need a *killer* pedal which does it all by itself, you simply need to add 10 to 20dB (which is a lot) gain and distortion to something that already works very well (TBX150 built in distortion).
Remember, you are not replacing it, but adding grind and balls, how's that?
2) something reasonable to add thunk, punch, attack, you name it: an equalizer in the effects loop.
If possible, a parametric one; if not, a good graphic.
10 bands minimum but maybe you can find a used 31 band one: huge tweaking power.
3) nothing of that will come out unless the speakers (the weak link)  can stand it and deliver the goods.
Go for a 4x12" with *good* speakers.