Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 29, 2024, 03:34:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

reading schematics

Started by icefire, March 19, 2009, 06:49:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

icefire

hey, im completely new to electronics and would like to begin building some stomp boxes and amps.

i had just finished learning to apply ohms law to resistors etc and was feeling pretty pleased with myself, so i picked up my Electronics Projects for Musicians book and had a look at some of the schematics. that was fine, i could see 'yup, that's an integrated circuit, thats a 2 nano-farad capacitor' but when i compared the schematic to the author's pcb layout they looked NOTHING alike.

i'm wondering is layout all a matter of preference, and if one blindly followed a schematic
in a linear fashion, eg: lining all the parts up and connecting them with wire as it would appear on the schematic, would i get good results? is layout really a matter of preference?

also, i notice a little plus within a circle on the schematics, i'm assuming this is the symbol for the power supply input?

thank you for reading

Enzo

I don't know what schematic you are looking at, but yes, as a rule when you see a + in a circle and a "wire" going to it, it represents the + power supply.

Schematics show the electrical relationship between parts.  Wiring diagrams and layouts show the physical relationship between parts.  The schematic has no relation to how you lay the parts out.  SO unless you have a VERY simple little circuit, the layout won;t look like the schematic.

Layout isn't random, you want most times to keep the input and output circuits away from each other for example.

J M Fahey