Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 01:39:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Simmons DA200S Drum Amplifier: Damaged Power Amp PCB

Started by troyo911, February 11, 2015, 10:00:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

troyo911

Hi

Hoping someone can help me out here. Before I get started please know that I am a complete novice to this stuff...

Quick background on my dilemma: I live in Australia where the wall voltage is 240V. I purchased a Simmons DA200S drum amplifier from the USA, and not realizing the amp had a max voltage of 120V I plugged it in to my wall and immediately blew the amp as soon as I switched it on (yes I know I am an idiot, expensive lesson learned).

So anyway I have taken the amp to a technician to repair and he said that all 4 output I.C.'s are blown. He can fix this for a price so that is all fine.

However, the tricky part is that the power amp PCB is also damaged and unrepairable. I've sent an email to the manufacturer (Simmons) but have yet to get a reply. So I am wondering if there is any other way to track down and purchase a compatible power amp PCB?

Here are the identification number details of the power amp PCB. Hopefully they might mean something more to you guys than they do to me!

HY284761408
E253936
HY-1
94v-0
DA200S Drum Amp
Power Amp PCB, REV G
28JUN2012 fc LWJ

Image of original power amp PCB is below (its upside down, sorry!):

I guess my main question is that, if I am unable to obtain this replacement part from the manufacturer, if there another way to get a similar compatible part that could be used in the repair of my amp?

Thanks for reading, any help is greatly appreciated.

g1

Nothing in that picture looks non-repairable, so I don't know why he would want to replace the board rather than fix it.  Perhaps he does not really repair things at component level, in which case you will need a different tech.