Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 08:28:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

New to electronics, I have a question.

Started by malephik, August 02, 2007, 03:40:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

malephik

As you can see in the title, I'm new to electronics (relatively because I do know how to solder, having gone to an electronics "club-thingie" - not a very good one, hence the name -  ,although I'm out of practice. Actually I wasn't very good at it to begin with :'( ).
I read most of the posts on "the newcomer's forum" and tried to do the 5th gear overdrive but was not very successful. For one thing, how do I connect the jacks to the whole thing? They each have 2 electrodes(I think) and in the schematic there's only 1 wire coming out from or going into the jack. The jack in actually has 6 plates(3 pairs): I'm guessing that one pair is for one electrode and the other two are for the other.
And another question: are the 3 lines, each progressively smaller that the other equivalent to a downwards pointing arrow, meaning the ground (that's the (-) isn't it?)?

Since this is the newcomer's forum, i thought it would be ok to ask these questions. I apologize if otherwise. Thank you in advance.

teemuk

Damn... the imagehost for 5th Gear OD schematic is down. I'm answeting "blind" in this one so take it with a grain of salt:

Quote from: malephik on August 02, 2007, 03:40:36 AM
For one thing, how do I connect the jacks to the whole thing? They each have 2 electrodes(I think) and in the schematic there's only 1 wire coming out from or going into the jack.

The wire shown is the wire carrying the signal. Besides that you also need the wire for common reference ("ground") - sometimes this connection is omitted from the schematics, as the jack wiring methods are assumed to be pretty common knowledge.