Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 06:12:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Fender Hot Rod Deluxe failure, confused on source of the problem

Started by basisforaday, December 05, 2014, 02:40:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

basisforaday

I have a 1995 Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, it's one of the first 500 ever produced (so I was told my an amp repair tech years ago).  After years of it collecting dust, I have been gigging with it 1-2 times a month for the last 6 months.  It has had a recurring issue that I find very odd, and even an experience amp tech does not seem to be able to diagnose is.

What happens is while I am playing, always at least 30-45 minutes into a performance, it will suddenly cut silent.  This ONLY happens when it has a lot of gain going through it.  For example, the second I hit my tubescreamer pedal the sound will cut out, or as soon as I hit a really high note with the amp's overdrive on.  It generally will come back on after about 15-30 seconds, and this will happen maybe another 1-2 times throughout a performance.  During my last performance, the sound did NOT end up coming back, even when I plugged in directly, however it once again worked fine when I got home.

What the hell could be causing this?  I brought it in to an amp tech, he said he was not able to recreate the problem.  Does this have something to do with my pedals?  How/why would the pedals affect the amp like this?  Any insight is appreciated as I am clueless and I am afraid it is going to crap out on me for many gigs to come.

Roly

Intermittent faults are always curly coz your first problem is getting the fault to show itself.

In this case the times suggest that it's basically thermal, and it is likely to be something such as a valve pin losing contact with its socket after some period of operation.  (Does it show any response to a thump on the case?)