Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 19, 2024, 04:58:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Hello all. New guy from Florida.

Started by Amp, March 27, 2013, 08:59:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Amp

Hi everyone  :)

Seems like a great forum. Amps are my great weakness in the never-ending gear chase  :lmao:

I'm interested in learning more about how to do basic repairs and the like. I've arrived at the point where I can take stuff apart and clean contacts (which is a shockingly consistent way to bring a lot of discarded stuff right back to service) but would like to learn more about how to do more advanced stuff. I'm a pretty high level woodworker, have built a few acoustic and electric instruments, but the amp side of things is new to me, even though amps are really a passion.

Anyway, I've rambled enough. Thanks for the forum. Hope to learn a lot.

Roly

Welcome @Amp (...that could get confusing)

Shhhhh ...  :-X  cleaning stuff is our little secret.  I've been fixing stuff for going on 50 years now and cleaning is a large part of what I do.  This became even more so when the early PC's arrived with about a thousand sliding contacts, and I estimate that something like 80-90% of problems I encountered were basically due to sliding contacts that stopped contacting.  The number of machines I "fixed" simply by seating all the RAM down again, or pulling all the cards and giving the edge connectors a good scrub with an eraser ...   :duh

One of the most common faults that comes up here are the bridging contacts in the Fx Send and Return connectors; a drink of contact cleaner frequently brings them right back.

Possibly the second most common would be blown output transistors, but provided you take a methodical approach to faultfinding, and a careful approach to testing your repair (power-limiting lamp), quite a few newbies manage to get their amps going again just fine.