Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 26, 2024, 03:45:52 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

power amp influence on sound?

Started by add4, January 08, 2013, 11:10:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

add4

Hello,

I'm quite new to amplifier tweaking/building. I recently serviced a polytone i bought used for 25 euros and that got me thinking about building a polyclone.

The amp i have does follow exactly the schematics on the murchmusic site.
However, i read that this power amp was difficult to bias and was not really easy to build. Another guy that build a polyclone told that he replaced it by a FET power amp.
How much does a power amp change would change the sound of the amp?
Are there classical and good sounding power amp designs around 80 or 100 Watts that would preserve the polytone sound?

In general, are power amps transparent and does the color of the amp comes from the preamp?
Thanks in advance for your help

Enzo

Just my opinion, others may disagree:

In general, I don't see the power amp of a solid state instrument amp being a real part of the tone shaping.  I expect that to come from the preamp.  In the case of a combo amp, the single thing that has the most effect on the sound is the speaker.  And that includes its enclosure.

If I were cloning a Polytone, I'd probably just dummy up the preamp, and either just buy a commercial power amp or if I built something, I;d probably go with a chip amp like an LM3886 based project.

Or I might take an old workhorse like a Peavey head with a 400BH power amp and build a preamp on the front of it.   Or take the 400BH board from it and use it in my clone.

add4

that's what i read earlier and the confirmation i wanted.
So there is no hearable difference between power amps or different class and using different technologies (FET vs BJT vs chips vs ... )?