Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 09:39:42 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Sunn Coliseum 300 potential short?

Started by tonight, we ride, March 18, 2012, 03:22:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonight, we ride

Hey guys!

So a friend passed along an 80's solid state Sunn Coliseum 300 head to me that he claims has been blowing speaker cabs. Before it ended up in my hands he said that he took it too an amp tech that said it had a short but that he wouldn't work on it. I have some experience with doing moderate repairs on tube amplifiers but have yet to work on an amp that is entirely solid state and was hoping to get some input.

I built a light bulb limiter and when i turn the Sunn on the 100w light bulb i used momentarily is bright and then dims, but i have no reference as to what a functioning 300w solid state amp would look like in terms of the light bulb brightness. Would a 100w tube amp be comparable?

From looking around on the forum here it seems like a potential cause for blowing speaker cabs would be a shorted transistor in the last stages of the power supply that would cause DC voltage to be present across the rails of the speaker output. I checked most of the transistors (but honestly not all of them) for a short and could not find one. I also checked for DC voltage between ground and the speaker outputs and there was none.

Does anyone have any suggestions about what else I should check before passing this amp back to my friend? Are there any other problems that could cause a head to be consistently blowing speaker cabinets? Any input is appreciated! Thanks!

Highest quality schematic i could find is attached.

gbono