Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 25, 2024, 06:25:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Guitar Amplifier Design

Started by stevenj, August 21, 2011, 03:59:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stevenj

I am studying electrical engineering and I have also been a guitar player most of my life.  It's now time for my senior project and I want to design a guitar amplifier.  This design/build/test cycle will go from this September till next March where I then should have a working build and a report backing it.  There are so many options as far as discrete, chip, etc...  Basically, I'm looking for a few different designs to base mine off of.  Any suggestions for a low watt (<50) design?

teemuk

What kind of features should it have?

Sounds kinda like a project where I'd really would choose just something quite simple and easy; building the thing may not be a problem nor overly time consuming but documenting the project in proper extent - if I understand correctly - is where these things fall down to and you may find yourself seriously struggling if you try to chew a too big piece at once.

Google for a few schematics and evaluate. What pops in my mind are designs like the Vox Pathfinder, the low power solid-state Marshall JCM800's (eg. Lead 12) or perhaps some of the MG series amps, basically anything in the sub 50W range that doesn't have DSP or anything too fancy in the features department.

joecool85

Easy to build but also useful amps are the old (1980's/early 90s) Dean Markley series like my K-20X that I won't stop talking about.

Schematics are available here: http://deanmarkley.com/Info/LegacyAmps/Docs.shtml

I would suggest regardless of what you go with to pick one primarily using "chip" power amp circuits and opamps (TL072 etc) in the preamp.  This will keep your design simple, inexpensive and also relevant in today's industry.
Life is what you make it.