Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

May 10, 2024, 03:37:45 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

new guy intro and question

Started by bsfc9, August 08, 2011, 01:29:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bsfc9

Hi all, I've been playing guitar since about 1985 and have owned all kinds of gear at one time or another. I've owned several various tube amps and been successful tinkering with their innards.
I now have a Marshall Master Lead Combo Model 5010 dated circa. 1986. It's just like one I used to own in 1989. Lately I have been into reacquiring retro(old) gear I used to have.

This amp was supposed to be the solid state equivalant of a JCM 800. Well, to my ears...maybe.

I want to change some tone stack values around, and my question is if this is supposed to sound like a JCM 800 why is the tone stack so different?

Has anyone around here messed with one of these?

Thanks so much...Mike

joecool85

Welcome to the board, Mike.  I haven't played around with either of those amps, but there are many here with enormous amounts of experience.  Good luck!
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

teemuk

- "JCM800" is name for series of amps, not for a single amp. With that in mind, what are The "JCM800" values? Which out of the vast number of different JCM800's is the reference?

- Have you actually calculated the responses of the tone stacks? Just because component values or even overall design are different might not mean the response is. After all same RC filter can be built with various R values if C values are scaled accordingly, and vice versa.

J M Fahey

Agree and add: we are in the dark until you post both tone controls to compare.
Even so, as Teemu said, maybe one of them *is* basically the other one, but scaled , say, 10x (capacitors 10X larger, resistors 10X smaller) which ends up sounding about the same.