Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 07:35:21 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Quick question regarding peavey head...

Started by TheRon, March 02, 2011, 09:41:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheRon

Hello all-

I am a total beginner and have a quick question

I recently picked up an old Peavey standard head (130W@4 ohms) and today I bought a 4X10 cabinet with 4 carvin ps10 speakers (200W@8 ohms).

Everything sounded fine at 1/4 volume until I played a high note. Now the cab sounds really fuzzy and muted- What did I do wrong?

Thanks in advance for any/all replies!

J M Fahey

We don't know whether the problem lies on the head or the speaker.
Try the head with another, known working speaker, at low volume.
We are not checking power but functionality here.
Do the opposite with the speaker.
You may even use a Hi Fi amplifier or a PC *speaker* out although best would be the external speaker out from friend's guitar amp..
Post results.

TheRon

I tried the amp through a Peavey 4X12 cab (4 peavey speakers rated 50W@16 ohms) and it sounded fine.

Tried the cab with a Crate B160XL and the cab sounds the same-

???

J M Fahey

What does
Quoteand the cab sounds the same-
mean?
The same as the head (good)
or
The same as before (bad).

TheRon

Sorry, I mean it sounds the same with both amps- fuzzy and muted.

I guess that means I blew out something in the cab right?

Enzo

Yes.  Just to be sure, did you try more than one speaker cord?  And is it a real speaker cord, and not just a guitar cord?  Never use a guitar cord to connect speakers.

But let's assume the cords are OK.  And you tried the amp through other speakers and it is OK.  Your cab has a problem.  Probably not because of what or how you played. 

It could be something as simple as a wire came loose.

It could be one of the speakers failed.