Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 07:48:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Vox Pathfinder Broke Help!

Started by vector_ray, February 21, 2009, 08:59:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vector_ray

I just came upon a Vox Pathfinder 10 on Craigslist for $20. Seller said it just quit and needs to be fixed. I'm new to electronic and still trying to get my feet wet. I figured this would be a great starter project.

Any help would be awesome. So I've checked the fuse and it doesn't look blown so I've moved on to check the on/off switch and the power cable. I just bought a mulitmeter to check voltage but I'm still unsure what I'm looking for.
1. Should I be on AC or DC when checking voltage on a solid state amp?
2. What voltage am I looking for when checking the on/off switch?
3. What voltage for the power cable? It splits into 3 cables when coming into the chassis. One ground and two other cables. Do I test the two non-ground cables?

Sorry for the newbie questions. Any help?

vector_ray

I managed to wiggle around the wires connecting the on/off switch and it seems to be working. I might need to pin-point what wire is the problem or if it's the jack. Any suggestions?

J M Fahey

Hi VectoRay.
To begin with, please do NOT touch anything inside your amplifier while it´s plugged into mains power.
To know if you´re getting power into it, first check that the fuse is good, then plug the amplifier and turn it on. Does the Led light?
Does the speaker click, hum, hiss, or make any noise at all?
Post your results.
J M Fahey

vector_ray

Thanks J M, Heres my results:
1. Originally the amp would not turn on, LED was not lit.
2. I checked the fuse while the amp was unplugged and it looked fine.
3. I unconnected and reconnected the wires to the on/off switch.