Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 29, 2024, 02:36:37 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Amp in a Computer Case?

Started by Muthauzem, February 15, 2009, 10:46:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Muthauzem

Yeah... I've ripped apart almost everything from an old computer and ended up with a nice empty metal case...
I wondered, what now? Then, almost instantly, I thought that maybe I could build a Guitar Amp in that.

I'm an electronics student and I've built some stomp boxes and power suplies before, so I'm kinda familiar with everything. But never dealed with amplifiers... I wanted something that sound good but is still simple.. So I choosed to go with SS in istead of Tube.

The question is, is it possible? Like, Is there any way to fit the speaker and circuitry inside the case? Is there any problem in it being all metalic, acousticaly speaking.

Also, I haven't started my researchs yet, so I'm completely lost about what circuit to pick. If you guys have any sugestion for me to begin with. I was thinking in something like 30 Watts - 8 Ohm...

Thank You, Already

J M Fahey

Hi Mauthauzen.
An LM3876 or 3886 can give you around 30W into 8 0hms, and are more powerful than what you need; that´s good because then you have a safety factor built-in.
TDA2050's can deliver almost 25W into 8 , but you are stretching them a bit.
There´s a lot of preamps to pick , or you can consider Mansur´s excellent Mesa Preamp (if you like heavy stuff) which he posted here.
Making neat holes into iron sheet (the computer case) won´t be very easy with homebuilder tools.
Try to get some aluminum sheet which is easier to work , doesn´t rust neither need paint, etc.
Good luck with your project.

Fahey

teemuk