Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 01:48:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Randall RG100 Classic info?

Started by TolerBear, August 04, 2014, 08:24:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TolerBear

Hey there. I'm new to this so I'm going to try to be brief in my description of my problem. I have looked high and low, near and far for a schematic for the Randall RG100 Classic. I'm a novice at discerning the layout of an amplifier. I know how to read a schematic and I know how to navigate through it enough to know what parts are used. My only source for any kind of schematic for this amp is that of an RG100ES. There's differences but I can't tell what all the differences are as I haven't went through it with a fine toothed comb. I know the output transistors are difference but they seem to run off the same dc voltage. Beyond that I have no clue what's the same/different. I need the right schematic. Can anybody help me? I had also thought about converting it to the ES power supply if that would work. Any thoughts on that, too? Thanks in advance for any help.

J M Fahey

Never saw the Classic, which I guess must be a reedition, but by definition it should be practically the same as the .... uh ..... "classic"... ES.
Difference in power transistors is probably because they use what's available and popular today, instead of 30 years ago, but does not change the sound at all, so don't waste time and money worrying on that.

Same with power supply.

Roly

um ... so brief you didn't actually say what your problem is with this amp. (???)

Quote from: TolerBearI had also thought about converting it to the ES power supply

Why?
If you say theory and practice don't agree you haven't applied enough theory.

TolerBear