Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:21:40 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Old tube guitar amp upgrade

Started by frank2, February 01, 2011, 11:13:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frank2

Hi guys! I am new to this forum, i have done several project for audio, but more in hifi. I am a guitarist for about 14 years. I have found in a basement a old forgotten amp by an old tenant. I have identify the combo witch i remove the head. It seem to be a Gar Gillies amp. I have try it, it sound sooo good.... and soooo loud! too loud to be honnest... Anyway, the tube still work but they are in bad shape and of course, the pot make a lot of pop.

My question is: the electronic inside is old, is there part that have improved and would be a good idea to change, like cap? I will change the pots and tube, probably add a gain channel by building a "real mc tube" drive that could be switched. A new enclosure too... Your input are welcome, here is some pic of the beast:

DJPhil

Interesting find!

I'd definitely consider changing out the main filter cap. Have you worked with multi-element caps before like the one in the big aluminum tube? The first time I worked on older tube gear that one threw me for a loop! I know I've seen a site somewhere where they discuss restuffing them with modern electrolytics to retain the same look. Pots, jacks, and tubes aside, the rest is probably just fine.

There is one thing that caught my eye, attached below. Did someone hack together a fix for the fuse? That looks extremely unsafe! If it were me I'd go through and insulate all the flying component leads so they had no chance of shorting out on something, though I'm a bit paranoid.

Keep us posted on what you decide to do. :)

joecool85

Phil has it right.  It sounds like you have experience working on tube amps, if not, be VERY careful - they carry lethal doses of electricity.