Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 04:58:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Kustom guitar amp not turning on

Started by Miller64, June 18, 2010, 01:19:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Miller64

Hello, I'm new to this thread but I have a question about my Kustom KLA100 guitar amplifier.  Today I was playing through the amp and all of a sudden the sound started cutting out so I shut off the amp and unplugged the power cable,  I then plugged the power cable back in and tried to turn the amp on and it wouldn't turn on.  I have already looked at the following things and they are all fine, fuse and on/off switch.  So I don't have a clue what it could be, I do know how to use a multi-meter and have some knowledge about resistors, capacitors, IC's, etc.. Please help me find out the problem all help is welcomed.  Thanks

J M Fahey

To begin with, WITH THE AMP UNPLUGGED, visually follow the continuity along the path, checking each step with the multimeter.
1) Put the selector on "continuity" (if it has a buzzer that beeps when you touch both probes to each other, much better) or "buzzer" or "diode test".
Often all 3 are combined into one.
Touch both to check that it beeps or at least shows "0" or a very low value.
Start checking from the ground blade on the power plug to chassis ground.
Then from the "hot" blade to the other end of that wire inside the amp.
It may go to a power switch or a fuse.
Then measure (always from the same blade)mto the other side of the switch or fuse and so on until you reach the power transformer, then across the transformer, and so on, until you reach the neutral blade.
I'm quite sure that the path will be cut or open somewhere across it, find why
*If* everything checks OK, we have the primary side checked, tomorrow we check the secondary side.
Good luck.

Miller64